Soloist Competition

The AYO Soloist Competition offers existing orchestra members the chance to compete for monetary prizes and a concerto appearance with the orchestra. The orchestra showcases young soloists and composers; it accompanied Dame Kiri Te Kanawa in her youth and, more recently, John Chen (piano), Amitai Pati (tenor) and Thomas Hutchinson (oboe).

We gratefully acknowledge a generous donation received from Mr Bernard Waters, to support the cash prizes awarded in this competition.   With a prize pool totalling $5,600, the Competition Winner receives $2,000 and there are prizes for Outstanding Performances, a Gem Section winner (short piece), best Under18 performer and two discretionary awards from the Music Director.



Past Competition Winners

2023    Alina Chen - Nielsen, Flute Concerto
2022   Winner prize not awarded
2021   Damon Herlihy-O'Brien - Kabalevsky, Cello Concerto No. 1 in G minor
2020   Kiara Kong - Bassi/Verdi, Fantaisie Brillante on Themes from Rigoletto (Clarinet)
2019    Ricky Shi - Weber, Bassoon Concerto in F Major, Op. 75
2018    Jacob Webster - Mouquet, La Flute de Pan
2017    Anna Cooper - Nielsen, Flute Concerto
2016    Noah Rudd - Anthony Ritchie, Cartoon: Fantasy for Oboe
2015    Eva Ding - Chen Yi, The Golden Flute
2014    Jacky Siu - Shostakovich, Cello Concerto No.1
2013    Jim Wu - Bruch, Violin Concerto
2012    Olivia Francis - Beethoven, Violin Concerto
2011    Albee Ai - Mozart, Bassoon Concerto in Bflat, K.191